Tags

, , , ,

brides-against-breast-cancerThis weekend I had the opportunity to serve as the City Coordinator for the local Brides Against Breast Cancer event that was held at the Portsmouth Renaissance Hotel on Friday and Saturday. 

Brides Against Breast Cancer is a national nonprofit organization that travels to various cities annually on the original Nationwide Tour of Gown Sale.  Proceeds from the gown sales help those impacted by cancer, their family members and caregivers.  The gowns are from top designers and range from size 0-30 with a savings up to 85%. 

Vow Bride Magazine was the media sponsor for the event which hosted many area wedding vendors.  Vendors who helped to make this event possible included Isha Foss Events, Snapqube, Troy Curry Photography, Colonial DJ’s, Eye Deux, Salon NOA, Waterford Event Rentals, Patti Cakes, Inc., Pampered Chef, Passion Parties and of course Memorable Events by Apryl. I really enjoyed networking and spending time with each vendor- the ones that I have already known and the new ones that I hope to get to know better!

The most exciting part about the event for me was the gown sale.  I am ecstatic to say that Hampton Roads was able to raise over $20,000 for the Brides Against Breast Cancer organization.  That is awesome, especially since it the the organizations first year in our area!  And the brides were happy too!  Nothing is better than finding your dream gown at a discounted rate!

I can’t wait until next year’s event, but in the meantime please look at some of the photos that I captured.