This morning I was a guest of the Old Dominion University Area Leader’s Tour.  The tour invited area leaders to tour some of the newest facilities that the university has to offer.  As an alumni and current director on the General Board of Directors for the ODU Alumni Association BAC chapter, I am always amped about any expansions that my alma mater experiences!

The morning started off in the Baron and Ellin Gordon Art Gallery.  There we were served a wonderful breakfast!

Luckily for me, I had not eaten breakfast before I left the house, so I really was able to indulge!!

I was really impressed by the artwork that was on display in the gallery and even more impressed to learn that some of the pieces are internationally recognized.

Our first stop on the tour was the Powhatan Sports Complex.  This is where the football, field hockey and lacrosse teams practice!  But let’s face it, we were there to see the football facilities!

Football Equipment Room

Monarchs Football Locker Room

After leaving the Sports Complex, we were taken to the Learning Commons.  This was just known as the library when I was a student.  But I quickly found out the reason for the name change!  The first two floors had been renovated to an open floor plan of learning space.  Sorry that I wasn’t able to get any pictures! While in the Learning Complex, we were provided a presentation on Bioelectrics.  This presentation was very information and opened my eyes to all of the medical uses that Bioelectrics  may be used for such as the treatment of cancer and wound recovery. The tour was well coordinated and really enjoyed some of the other area leaders that I got to meet and interact with!  As usual, I can’t wait for my next university event!  Make It Memorable!