As if my business email inbox is not full enough, today I received “the news of a lifetime.”  The email reads “I am pleased to announce that Memorable Events By Apryl has been selected for the 2011 Best of Norfolk Award in the Party Planning & Event Consultants category by the US Commerce Association (USCA). ”  Well, that would be great news if this was actually a government sanctioned association- NOT!

This scam is based upon the premise that all small businesses want to be recognized as being the best to aid in their marketing.  Yes, that may be true but I would rather be recognized for my actual work and reviews from clients and/or industry peers.

So I know that you are thinking “where does the scam part come in?”  Well, in order to receive a copy of your “award” you must order (purchase) the wall plaque and/or acrylic award ranging for $79 to $199.    Why would I pay for an award that I supposedly earned???

This email went into the same pile as other junk mail that I receive!  Business owners beware! If you have never heard of the organization and can not confirm how you were “selected” do your research.  Google the company, look at Better Business Bureau records and just use plain common sense.  This company has so many complaints listed online that it made my head spin!  Now back to working on events that will hopefully garner “real” accolades. : )

Make It Memorable!