National Grandparent’s Day!  I have always been very close to my grandparents.  My maternal grandmother passed when I was 5 years old, but I was fortunate to have her live with us during those short years.  On the maternal side, that left me with my maternal grandfather.  I can honestly say that I was the apple of his eye.  Whatever I wanted or needed, he made sure that I had.  When he found out that I was taking piano lessons, he did not hesitate to give my mother the money for her to purchase me my own piano.  He passed away when I was in elementary school.  I still miss him to this day!

My fraternal grandparents have always been present as well.  My fraternal grandfather was also protective of me, always making sure that my parents did what was in my best interest.  The dynamics of my relationship with my fraternal grandmother is so different because our bond really enhanced once I became an adult.  Whenever I need an unbiased ear, I know that I can count of my grandmother to be there for me.  She is never judgemental, which I appreciate because some of the things that I have had to share with her…

I said all of that just to say that I love my grandparents.  Right now, I only have my fraternal grandmother now and I cherish the time that we do have with each other.  So many of my friends are not fortunate enough to have their grandparents in their lives, I was blessed enough to have my great-grandparents around to share special moments with as well.

In light of today’s other significance, make sure that you take out the time to acknowledge your grandparents if they are still here.

Make It Memorable!